With a number of exceptions, all businesses (including non-profit organizations) within the United States are required to file reports with their respective states. States typically send reminders (physical mail, and in some cases email) when the report is due, however it is important to research the rules pertaining to your particular entity in your specific state in order to make sure your company always files its reports on time.
For most states, this filing is required to keep the business in good standing and operating illegally. Additionally, there are typically fines for late or missed filings.
An Annual Report and its equivalents usually includes brief statements regarding profits or losses, information for investors and shareholders on the growth and direction of the business, as well as updated information on business purpose, function and operating details. Annual Reports are also required to include any changes made to your business throughout the year, such as location, management and service type.
Most states set the deadline for the anniversary of the business entity’s formation date. For example, if your business was formed on October 31st, 2011, your annual report would be due at the end of October, 2012. Other states (e.g. Florida, Delaware) have predetermined due date for all annual reports and similar filings.
Note: Some states require Biennial Reports. These states are:
California (annual for corporations, biennial for LLC)
Indiana (annual for non-profits)
New Mexico (annual for non-profits, biennial for corporations, LLCs are exempt)
We charge just $40 for the filing, plus state fees.
Most states carry a filing fee for their Annual Reports. These fees vary state to state, typically between $50 and $400.
Every state is different. Some states do not charge a fee to LLCs. Others charge LLCs much more than Corporations.
In addition, many states collect what is called a “franchise tax” at the same time as the annual report is filed. The amount of tax depends on the amount of business transacted by your company in that state in the last year (or 6 months) and on the value of business’s property owned in the state, but the minimums range anywhere from $50 to $800 (California).
Yes. Any information or payment you submit is secured using SSL/TLS encryption technology.
The “s” in the “https://” at the start of the address of pages that collect or display your information is what identifies this security. When you start the application process you will see the https:// in the URL.
This site uses 100% Secure SSL from Godaddy.
Click below to verify:
SSL ensures that all data passed between the web server and browsers remain private and integral.